Questions – Chapter Six

How many times had I envisioned this, especially during the initial days after you left.

And how varied these situations were.

That you would be standing down my window at girls hostel, looking up one night, wanting to come see me the first thing on your return.

That I would go to you, and run into your arms, forgoing every bit of self reliance.

Or that you would come see me at my home, at the library we frequented to, at any place in fact.

Or that we would run into each other accidentally.

The dream died when you have started becoming a recognizable face in media.

But the hope did not die for a long time.

But even in the wildest of my dreams, I have not thought of a day like this, to meet you on the dias, extending you a flower bouquet.

Can you hear my heart beat Abhi?

Does it sound the same it did that day you kissed me first?

Do you feel the heart palpitations too?

Do you feel the crowd, the applause, the lights, everything fade away, even us.

I, in the Saree, and you in the white kurta and Jeans, your signature style… these people that got resurrected in the past few years fade away, bringing forth those two individuals in empty classrooms, who started meeting to help each other score better marks.

Do you remember the first day you asked me to do the assignment together Abhi?

You walk into the classroom that I haunted, that nobody else visited because it was on the top floor and was of the seniors in science section who barely had classes held in that semester, working on their projects as they were.

It was an accident that you walked in, saw me and took a seat quietly and continued doing your work, but asked me questions in between wherever you had a doubt, as if we knew each other all our lives.

I always thought of that one afternoon, and wondered what if you did not choose to come to that empty classroom that day.

One insignificant moment which would have altered everything. Maybe even this moment.

But that is what life is, isn’t it Abhi?

A series of unexpected incidents, just like here and now, when you take the bouquet and with a smile that is directed to everyone, you move ahead and take your seat.

While it takes me a second to realize you moved on, and I, stood here.

4 thoughts on “Questions – Chapter Six

Add yours

  1. Did he? Move on that is. It would be too filmy to think that he didn’t.

    An Ecomonics teacher and a politician…two completely different worlds they are in.

    Now that they have met, sure this isn’t going to be the last time?

    I just can’t wait for the next part.

    Thank you for double chapters. Made my day.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑